2016 GP2 Calendar Announced

The 2016 GP2 Series calendar has been announced this week. The series will support 11 of the 21 Formula 1 events this year, starting off in Barcelona in May before concluding in Abu Dhabi in November.

13-15 May – Barcelona, Spain
26-28 May – Monte Carlo, Monaco
17-19 June – Baku, Azerbaijan
01-03 July – Spielberg, Austria
08-10 July –  Silverstone, UK
22-24 July – Budapest, Hungary
29-31 July – Hockenheim, Germany
26-28 August – Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium
02-04 September – Monza, Italy
31 Sept-02 Oct – Sepang, Malaysia
25-27 November – Yas Marina, UAE

Notably absent from this year calendar is the Russian and Bahrain rounds of the championship, whilst it looks like Malaysia has made its way back on the calendar following a two-year absence and obviously Baku will be making its debut in 2016 for the series along with Formula 1.

In addition to this GP2 will also have two pre-season tests set to take place between the 9th – 11th of March at Barcelona and from the 29th – 31st March in Jerez.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *