FIA Confirms 21-Race Calendar For 2016

The FIA have confirmed that there will be 21 race weekends in the 2016 Formula 1 season, which includes a raft of changes from the initial draft set out in July earlier this year.

The season is now set to kick off in March rather than April and the US Grand Prix date has been relegated to ‘TBC’ along with a provisional date of October 23rd, amid its lack of funding from local government. Baku has also been confirmed as taking place on June 19th, meaning no Le Mans return for Nico Hulkenberg, and the Mexican Grand Prix date has changed from November 7th to October 30th.

More space has also been made to accommodate the summer shutdown for teams, with the German Grand Prix moved ahead of the Hungarian round of the championship in a back-to-back weekend in July. The British GP has also been moved to July 10th, having had a provisional date of June 26th.

March 20 – Australia
April 3 – Bahrain
April 17 – China
May 1 – Sochi
May 15 – Spain
May 29 – Monaco
June 12 – Canada
June 19 – Baku
July 3 – Austria
July 10 – Britain
July 24 – Hungary
July 31 – Germany
August 28 – Belgium
September 4 – Italy
September 18 – Singapore
October 2 – Malaysia
October 9 – Japan
October 23rd – USA TBC*
October 30 – Mexico
November 13 – Brazil
November 27 – Abu Dhabi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *