Hamilton takes pole by a tenth from Rosberg

Lewis Hamilton will start from pole position for the 2016 Brazilian Grand Prix, after beating team mate Nico Rosberg by a tenth of a second.

Hamilton was ahead in the initial runs by 0.162s, however in the second run Rosberg was able to match him in the first sector. But the Brit was able to stay ahead in the middle and final sectors and produce a 1m10.736s, which gives him his 60th pole position and crucially the upper hand in the title battle.

Kimi Raikkonen starts in third on the second row from Max Verstappen, with Sebastian Vettel ahead of Daniel Ricciardo on the third row despite the Ferrari driver starting qualifying late because of a hydraulic problem.

Haas also found some pace which allowed Romain Grosjean to beat both Force India’s to seventh in an impressive showing, while Fernando Alonso rounds out the top ten.

Williams knocked out by Force India in Q2

Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams FW38. 12.11.2016. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 20, Brazilian Grand Prix, Sao Paulo, Brazil, Qualifying Day. - www.xpbimages.com, EMail: requests@xpbimages.com - copy of publication required for printed pictures. Every used picture is fee-liable. © Copyright: Photo4 / XPB Images

Photo Credit: XPB Images

Both Williams drivers will start outside of the top ten having been knocked out by the Force India duo in the closing stages of Q2. Massa briefly got himself into the top ten on the final runs, but Esteban Gutierrez also improved to knock him to 11th before both Romain Grosjean and Perez got themselves into the top ten which put Valterri Bottas down to 11th and Massa 13th at his home race.

They were joined by Danill Kvyat and Carlos Sainz who will start from 14th and 15th respectively, as Jolyon Palmer will start from 16th on the grid having struggled with the grip in his Renault in the opening stages.

Button’s mistakes force him out in Q1 as Manor beats Sauber

Jenson Button was the shock drop out in Q1 as he made mistakes on both of his final runs, having needed to improve from 17th. The McLaren driver was struggling to find grip down at Turn 8 and locked up on his final run into Turn 1, which sealed his fate alongside Renault’s Kevin Magnussen.

Both Manor’s managed to get head of both Sauber drivers, with Pascal Wehrlein ahead of Esteban Ocon in 19th and 20th respectively. While Marcus Ericsson improved on his final run to go ahead of Felipe Nasr in 21st.

Photo Credit: XPB Images


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *