Lando Norris Takes MSA Formula Opening Round Win

Lando Norris took victory in the opening round of the MSA Formula championship in Brands Hatch today, ahead of Daniel Ticktum and Matheus Leist. Pole man Dan Baybutt lost ground at the start of the race and ended up P7, with the Safety Car coming out after two laps, by which point we had three casualties in the form of Jack Barlow, Alexandra Marinescu, and Louise Richardson.

At the restart Norris led from Leist and Ticktum, with the Carlin driver setting the fastest lap of the race 14 laps in on a 46.609, before going a tenth of a second faster the next lap to stretch the gap out to 1.1 seconds to Leist. This was later beaten by Ticktum by a further tenth of a second, who used his pace as an opportunity to get past Liest for P2 at Druids in the closing stages of the race.

Elsewhere the battle in the midfield was interesting between James Pull and Enaam Ahmed, the JTR driver getting past the Arden for P8 on lap 19. Josh Smith and Colton Herta also swapped position for P11 on lap 21, with Jack Butel and Sandy Mitchell duelling for P14 midway through the race – the Arden driver making his way past the SWB Motorsport car despite the pair being 11 seconds off the pace.

But it was Lando Norris who took victory ahead of Ticktum, Leist, Fielding, Collard, Matins, Baybutt, Pull, Ahmed, and Reddy rounding out the top ten.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *