Mark Webber Wins WEC Title Along With Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard

Former Red Bull Formula 1 driver Mark Webber took the World Endurance Championship title with Porsche yesterday, in what was a tense 6 hours of Bahrain.

The trio of drivers only just managed to clinch the title, after an early problem with the throttle linkage put them down 4 laps from the leaders. That meant the #18 Porsche driven by Marc Lieb, Neel Jani and Romain Dumas, needed to win and for the #17 to come at least fifth overall in order to take the championship.

As it happened, despite running into power delivery issues the #17 was able to win after the #8 Audi blew its front left brake disc, which required the team to change the whole front left driveshaft unit. That put them six laps down, and with two hours left sealed their fate as the #18 Porsche fended off a late challenge from the #7 Audi up front.

This would be Mark Webber’s first championship on a world scale having moved to WEC from Formula 1 at the end of 2013, with former GP2 ace Brendon Hartley also joining in on the spoils. Timo Bernhard was also credited as being the man who turned the three-man team into a world leading LMP1 outfit, having nearly taken this years and last years 24 hours of Le Mans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *