Merhi Disqualified In Both Races At Red Bull Ring For Causing Finish Line Crash

Roberto Merhi has been disqualified from both of todays races following the finish line crash at the end of this mornings race, which he caused with Nicholas Latifi.

The Pons driver was slowing down past the chequered flag to stop at the P2 grid slot, where he would’ve started later today, to lay down rubber. The Arden driver then struck the rear of the Pons car as he crossed the line, sending him over the top and across the track, nearly taking out fifth place finisher Tom Dillmann for good measure.

Drivers were told not to slow down after the finish line by the stewards, instead being told to wait until after they passed turn one on their slow down lap. After receiving a time penalty for track limits the stewards ruled that Merhi caused the collision and excluded him from the race, later disqualifying him from taking part in Race Two later today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *