Ocon Wins GP3 Title In Abu Dhabi Showdown

Esteban Ocon has been crowned your 2015 GP3 champion after finishing ahead of rival Luca Ghiotto in todays race.

The Mercedes development driver took the championship lead on Friday when he posted the fastest time in Qualifying to start on pole position for yesterdays race. However a five-second time penalty for track limits thwarted what should have been a straight race win for Ocon, and meant the title showdown went to today on GP3’s 100th race.

Ocon and Ghiotto were alongside each other on the grid in 5th and 6th place, and when the light went out we immediately saw contact between the two heading into turn one as Ocon chopped across the circuit. That sent Ghiotto back two places, which he made back up on the next lap by utilising the tow on the very long back straight.

But as the race settled Ghiotto found the inevitable in GP3, with tyre wear taking too much of a toll on his performance and ultimately stopping him from making an overtake for the title. Ocon meanwhile crossed the line in third which is all he needed to do, to take the 2015 GP3 Series Championship!

The Frenchman joins the likes of Alex Lynn, Valterri Bottas, Esteban Gutierrez, and Mitch Evans as a GP3 title holder, winning it back-to-back with his F3 championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *