Orudzhev Holds off Rowland To Take Formula Renault 3.5 Win In Hungary

Egor Orudzhev took todays Formula Renault 3.5 race win in Hungary, after defending from pole man Oliver Rowland to the chequered flag.

The ART driver managed to get a better start than Rowland, who lost ground off the line before gaining back some positions. Tom Dillmann also got a good start along with teammate and was able to make it up to third before being forced off the road by third placed man Nicholas Latifi, losing ground into turn two.

A couple of laps later we then saw Latifi hold up a train of cars with worn rear tyres, with Vaxiviere who started in third challenging him for position around the outside of turn one. However Latifi pulled the same move he did on Dillmann on the opening lap and ran Vaxiviere out of road, but the Lotus driver kept his foot stuck in and got a run into turn two.

Latifi defended, but made contact with the front right of Vaxiviere’s car which caused an instant puncture for the Arden driver and a spin for the Lotus, losing him ground. Meanwhile up front we saw Rowland close in on Orudzhev’s lead after lapping two tenths faster.

Vaxiviere_Formula_Renault_Hungary_F1WeekendsOrudzhev pulled off some impressive defensive driving moves whilst under pressure from Rowland, consistently giving him the worse line whilst getting the better drive out of the corners. Further behind Roberto Merhi managed to get into P3 and get onto the back of the battle with four laps to go.

Meanwhile Gustav Malja and Beitske Visser battled for P8 in the closing stages, with the AVF car running wide into turn one and allowing Malja to take the position. Several corners later however the McLaren protege retook the position. Whilst that went on Rowland attempted to make a move on Orudzhev on the final lap, but the ART driver was able to hold the position.

A frustrated Rowland made a final move around the outside at the final corner, only to run wide and allow Merhi through to take second at the line. They finished ahead of Vaxiviere, Dillmann, Panis, Nissany, Visser, and Malja rounding out the top ten.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *